Music & Movie Monday: Sappy Soundtrack Songs

While I have my favorite songs and artists, I don’t necessary love it enough to dedicate a weekly blog series out of it. So, I’m going to give Monday’s the flexibility of any “M” theme. This week happens to combo Music and Movie Mondays. I figured it would be a smooth transition (which is so important, right? JK).

Nicholas Sparks sure does know how to write a tear-jerker, doesn’t he? Since my young, impressionable pre-teenage years, I’ve read his hopelessly romantic novels and have cried during each of them. There’s a reason many of his books end up on the best-sellers lists – and it’s his beautiful storytelling, that allows readers to quickly escape into his small-town characters who each experience the love of a lifetime.

Of the six Sparks movies, none will ever beat the Notebook, but Dear John does the trick when you’re looking for an extreme chick flick. Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried’s chemistry also doesn’t compare to the epic love of Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams (who, I REALLY wish were still together); but, it’s enough to make me swoon.

  
  
Anyway…on to the point of this post. I’m a sucker for sappy love songs, and there is an amazing duet with Joshua Radin and Schuyler Fisk that makes me gush. “Paperweight” is soft, sweet, soulful and sentimental, which to much of Cory’s dismay, makes me want to play it on repeat for at least a day.

It’s been since the famous “ask me to stay” scene with Pacey and Joey in Dawson’s Creek (you know which one I’m talking about) since I’ve been as into such a sappy song. “Promise Me This” by Pancho’s Lament has the same tone, so it’s not surprising that I have had this on my sappy love mix since high school.

“Promise Me This” was also in the Jack & Jill soundtrack.

So, now that you know my weakness with sappy love songs…what are some of your favorites? I’m always looking for new ones to add to my playlist.

One thought on “Music & Movie Monday: Sappy Soundtrack Songs

  1. OMG love paperweight…such a great song…I will admit I bout the Dear John soundtrack!! Love this post…thanks for the DC memories!

Leave a Reply

